User account

Jean-Christophe Bailly: Die fortwährende Überraschung des Sinns
Die fortwährende Überraschung des Sinns
(p. 351 – 366)

Jean-Christophe Bailly

Die fortwährende Überraschung des Sinns

PDF, 16 pages

  • ethics
  • community
  • post-structuralism
  • democracy
  • deconstruction

My language

Selected content

Jean-Christophe Bailly

Jean-Christophe Bailly was born in 1949 in Paris. He is a writer who experimented in all genres except the novel. His relationship to philosophy, based on an active reading into early German Romanticism, has intensified since the 1980s when he met J.-L. Nancy and P. Lacoue-Labarthe. He published, together with Nancy, La Comparution (1991). Among his numerous works are: Panoramiques (Bourgois, 2000), Le Champ mimétique (Seuil, 2005), Le Versant animal (Bayard, 2007), L’Élargissement du poème (Bourgois, 2016) ou L’Imagement (Seuil, 2020). His most famous book is Le Dépaysement (Seuil, 2011).
Susanna Lindberg (ed.), Artemy Magun (ed.), ...: Thinking With—Jean-Luc Nancy

With this book, we would like to resume the passionate conversation that Jean-Luc Nancy was engaged in throughout his life, with philosophers and artists from all over the world. Now that he has passed away, it is not enough for us to simply reflect on his work: we would like to stay true to the stance to which his thought invites us, in a pluralistic and communal way. Jean-Luc Nancy takes up the old philosophical question of truth as a praxis of a with — understanding truth without any given measure or comparison as an articulation of a with. It is a thinking responsible for the world from within the world, a language that seeks to respond to the ongoing mutation of our civilization.


With contributions by Jean-Christophe Bailly, Rodolphe Burger, Marcia Sá Calvacante Schuback, Marcus Coelen, Alexander García Düttmann, Juan-Manuel Garrido, Martta Heikkilä, Erich Hörl, Valentin Husson, Sandrine Israel-Jost, Ian James, Apostolos Lampropoulos, Nidesh Lawtoo, Jérôme Lèbre, Susanna Lindberg, Michael Marder, Artemy Magun, Boyan Manchev, Dieter Mersch, Hélène Nancy, Jean-Luc Nancy, Aïcha Liviana Messina, Ginette Michaud, Helen Petrovsky, Jacob Rogozinski, Philipp Stoellger, Peter Szendy, Georgios Tsagdis, Marita Tatari, Gert-Jan van der Heiden, Aukje van Rooden.